Powerlifting is the ultimate test of upper body strength, with athletes sometimes lifting more than three times their body weight.

The sport is governed by the IPC and coordinated by the IPC Powerlifting Technical Committee. It first became a Paralympic sport in 1964 at the second Tokyo Games. Initially known as 'weightlifting', it was open to male athletes with spinal cord injuries, but is now open to athletes with cerebral palsy, spinal injuries, lower limb amputees, and others.

Powerlifting's single discipline is the bench press. There are ten different categories based on body weight. Athletes are given three attempts to make a lift and the winner is the athlete who lifts the heaviest weight.

Body Weight Categories for Women:

Up to 41.00 kg
Up to 45.00 kg (from 41.01 kg to 45.00 kg)
Up to 50.00 kg (from 45.01 kg to 50.00kg)
Up to 55.00 kg (from 50.01 kg to 55.00 kg)
Up to 61.00 kg (from 55.01 kg to 61.00 kg)
Up to 67.00 kg (from 61.01 kg to 67.00 kg)
Up to 73.00 kg (from 67.01 kg to 73.00 kg)
Up to 79.00 kg (from 73.01 kg to 79.00 kg)
Up to 86.00 kg (from 79.01 kg to 86.00 kg)
Over 86.00 kg (from 86.01 kg and over)
Body Weight Categories for Men:

Up to 49.00kg
Up to 54.00 kg (from 49.01 kg to 54.00 kg)
Up to 59.00 kg (from 54.01 kg to 59.00 kg)
Up to 65.00 kg (from 59.01 kg to 65.00 kg)
Up to 72.00 kg (from 65.01 kg to 72.00 kg)
Up to 80.00 kg (from 72.01 kg to 80.00 kg)
Up to 88.00 kg (from 80.01 kg to 88.00 kg)
Up to 97.00 kg (from 88.01 kg to 97.00 kg)
Up to 107.00 kg (from 97.01 kg to 107.00 kg)
Over 107.00 kg (from 107.01 kg and over)